Coinbase and Moov say they will add stablecoin acceptance, settlement, and real-time funding to Moov's payments platform, while key rollout, custody, and commercial details remain undisclosed.

Coinbase and Moov stablecoin banking announcement imagery. Image via Coinbase. Source
Coinbase and payments infrastructure provider Moov announced a partnership on September 10 to add stablecoin payment acceptance, settlement, and real-time funding to Moov's platform for community banks and credit unions. In its announcement, Coinbase said Moov will integrate Coinbase stablecoin infrastructure into its existing payments platform. The companies described the work as a way for financial institutions to offer certain stablecoin functions through systems they already use, rather than build a separate crypto stack.
The announcement describes a planned integration, not a retail product launch. It names the intended functions and the underlying Coinbase products, but it does not publish a go-live date, an initial list of institutions, a list of eligible customers or merchants, supported stablecoins, supported networks, transaction limits, or pricing. Those omissions set the current boundary of what customers of a community institution can expect from the partnership. Moov's newsroom links to the Coinbase post as the public announcement; it does not add an implementation timetable or product documentation.
Coinbase says Moov serves a growing customer base of more than 1,000 community banks and credit unions. That is a description of Moov's existing customer base, not a commitment that every one of those institutions will receive the announced functions or that their account holders will be able to use them at launch. The announcement also does not identify the countries, states, institution types, business lines, or individual Moov integrations that will be included first. Coinbase's post refers to community banks and credit unions as the intended audience, but gives no enrollment process or eligibility criteria for them.
The starting scope is three functions: stablecoin payment acceptance, settlement, and real-time funding. Coinbase also lists four example uses: consumer stablecoin payments, merchant acceptance, merchant settlement, and payouts. The wording matters. These are use cases the infrastructure is intended to support, rather than a statement that each use case is already available through every participating financial institution or to every consumer and merchant. The announcement does not distinguish which of the four use cases will arrive first or describe a staged rollout.
For a consumer payment, the release does not say whether a customer will pay from a self-custody wallet, a Coinbase account, an account held by an institution, or another source. For merchant acceptance, it does not say what checkout interface will be used, which merchant categories will qualify, whether the merchant receives stablecoins or fiat, or when settlement becomes final. For payouts and real-time funding, it does not specify the source of funds, the destination, the transfer rail, or the conditions under which a transaction can be completed outside ordinary banking hours. Each point is unresolved in the public release. Coinbase's description uses those labels without an accompanying product specification.
Moov's existing documentation helps separate the announced work from features already on its platform. Moov says its transfers can use several payment rails, with the rail available according to the account and its capabilities. Its public payment-method guide lists ACH, card networks, and real-time bank rails among the existing choices; it also says payment methods depend on linked funding sources and that some methods require verification. Moov's payment-method documentation does not list a Coinbase stablecoin payment method or explain how the new partnership will be configured.
That distinction is material because Moov already documents real-time bank payments through its instant-bank-credit method, which it says can use RTP and FedNow, as well as card and ACH collection and payout methods. The announced phrase "real-time funding" therefore should not be read as a claim that a stablecoin transfer and a bank-rail transfer are the same product, or that all of Moov's existing real-time options will become stablecoin options. Moov's capabilities reference lists real-time bank transfers as a separately enabled function and says verification and underwriting are required for it. Neither company has published the corresponding stablecoin enablement rules for this partnership.
Coinbase assigns the digital-asset layer to itself and the payments-platform connection to Moov. The announcement says Moov will integrate Coinbase's stablecoin payments infrastructure into Moov's existing product, while Coinbase will provide the digital-asset infrastructure. For business and merchant-related payments, Coinbase says Moov will also use Coinbase's "fully disclosed custodial accounts." The announcement does not define that account type, identify the contracting entity that will custody customer assets, or say which party will operate each account in a live transaction.
The post names two Coinbase Developer Platform components: Custodial Wallet accounts for fund custody and the Payments API for orchestrating stablecoin movement. Coinbase's general documentation describes Custodial Wallets as backend-controlled accounts that can hold balances in assets such as USD, USDC, or other supported crypto and can be used as sources or targets for deposits, transfers, and payouts. It says Coinbase provides custody for assets in those accounts on behalf of the CDP entity. Coinbase's Custodial Wallet documentation also distinguishes entity-owned accounts from customer-owned accounts attributed to KYC-verified end users.
That documentation establishes what the general CDP product can do. It does not establish the ownership model, asset list, KYC flow, or account architecture that Moov and a community institution will use. Coinbase states in the same documentation that asset, network, and settlement availability depend on an entity's configuration and environment. It also says that the product requires a business account and asks prospective users to contact Coinbase to discuss fit. Those published conditions are product-level limits, not proof of availability to any particular Moov customer.
Coinbase's broader payments documentation describes a custodial-account stack in which inbound crypto can enter through a deposit destination, balances are held in a custodial account, and funds can leave through transfers or fiat payment methods. It says a merchant accepting stablecoins can settle into a custodial account if the merchant wants fiat rather than holding the stablecoin. Coinbase's payments overview describes those possible arrangements, but the Coinbase-Moov release does not say whether Moov's merchant settlement will follow that flow, whether it will include conversion to fiat, or who will set the conversion terms.
The generic payment-acceptance product also shows why the word "acceptance" alone does not settle the operational questions. Coinbase documents a payment-session model with creation, buyer authorization, capture, void, refund, and settlement states. Its public product page says integrations can use hosted, redirect, or embedded experiences, and that settlement choices can include USD, USDC, or other configurations, subject to its product terms and onboarding. The payment-acceptance documentation is not a Moov integration guide, so it cannot establish which of those controls or settlement choices Moov will expose to institutions or merchants.
Likewise, Coinbase's transfer product supports payouts and disbursements from a custodial account to onchain addresses, email recipients, or bank accounts through listed fiat rails. Its documentation says transfers can be quoted before execution, provides for completion or failure states, and can include bank, conversion, network, and other fees in a quote. Coinbase's transfer documentation describes the general API behavior. The partnership announcement does not say whether Moov will use that product for every payout, how fees will be shown, or whether a community institution, merchant, consumer, Moov, or Coinbase will bear them.
Moov's existing account model adds another limit on what can be inferred. In Moov's platform, payment capabilities govern what an account can do, while linked funding sources determine available payment methods. Moov says its existing collect-funds and send-funds functions require verification and underwriting, and that its wallet capability can be required for receiving or disbursing funds on the platform. Moov's capabilities documentation does not state that those same capabilities, review standards, wallets, or balances will be used for the Coinbase integration. It establishes the baseline payment system into which Coinbase says the stablecoin infrastructure will be integrated.
Coinbase's announcement places community financial institutions at the center of the arrangement and says they can retain the customer relationship while adding payment options. That is the companies' stated goal, not a published allocation of legal responsibilities. Coinbase describes its own role as supplying digital-asset infrastructure and Moov's as connecting it to the payments infrastructure institutions and their customers already use.
The release includes a statement from Jill Castilla, identified as chairman, president, and chief executive of Citizens Bank of Edmond, about small-business customers seeking lower interchange costs and faster payment. It does not say Citizens Bank of Edmond is a launch customer, has signed up for the product, or will offer it on any date. The full announcement should therefore be read as evidence of a named executive's perspective in the release, not as confirmation of the bank's participation.
Ryan VanGrack, whom Coinbase identifies as vice chair and head of corporate affairs, said the partnership would give community banks and credit unions regulated infrastructure to offer these services through existing systems. Wade Arnold, Moov's co-founder and chief executive, said business customers of community institutions are being asked to accept stablecoins and described merchant acceptance, disbursement, and funding outside weekends and holidays as the direction of the work. Their statements are company and executive views. They do not supply a launch commitment, service-level agreement, or promise that transfers will be continuously available.
No public announcement identifies a bank, credit union, core-banking provider, merchant processor, card-network partner, or stablecoin issuer as a participating counterparty in the integration. It also does not state whether users must hold a Coinbase account, whether institutions must open a Coinbase business or CDP account, or whether an institution can offer the service under its own branding. Coinbase's general Custodial Wallet documentation says customer-owned accounts require KYC-verified end users and specified custody capabilities, but it does not say those conditions are the implementation chosen by Moov. The documentation is useful context for the product category, not confirmation of Moov's customer journey.
Custody is part of the announcement, but the public materials leave the most consequential custody questions open. Coinbase says Custodial Wallet accounts will be used for fund custody and that fully disclosed custodial accounts will be used for business and merchant-related payments. It does not disclose which legal entity will hold the assets in each flow, whether the community institution or its customer will be the account holder of record, who controls transaction approval, or how assets and records will be segregated. Coinbase's post does not answer those questions.
Coinbase's general documentation says customer-owned Custodial Wallet accounts are available for balances attributed to KYC-verified end users under an approved program, while entity accounts can be used for treasury, settlement, and operational balances. That shows that the Coinbase product has more than one possible ownership model. The Custodial Wallet guide does not connect either model to Moov's partnership, and it does not explain the announcement's term "fully disclosed custodial accounts." The companies have not published a custody agreement, account disclosures, or a responsibility matrix for the offering.
Commercial terms are also absent. The release does not disclose integration fees, acceptance fees, network fees, conversion spreads, reserve requirements, revenue sharing, minimum commitments, loss allocation, chargeback or fraud handling, or which party provides customer support. Coinbase's general transfer documentation confirms that its transfer system can calculate several types of fees before execution, including bank, conversion, and network fees. That capability does not disclose what Moov or a participating institution will charge in this arrangement.
The asset and network choices remain unannounced. Coinbase's general Payment Acceptance documentation lists USDC and USDT and several networks for that product, while its Custodial Wallet and deposit-destination documentation says supported assets, networks, and settlement behavior depend on an entity's configuration. Coinbase's payment-acceptance guide and deposit-destination guide cannot be used to infer that those assets or networks will be available through Moov. The partnership announcement itself does not name a stablecoin, a blockchain, a redemption path, or a fiat settlement currency.
Coinbase and Moov say acceptance, settlement, and real-time funding are the starting point, and say they see opportunities over time to explore links to more financial products offered by community institutions. The release does not identify those later products, commit to a timetable, or state the commercial or custody model that would govern them.